Veganism and Vegetarianism — What Is It?

 

The difference between veganism and vegetarianism tends to be confusing to omnivores.

Vegans are people who do not consume any meat, animal-based products, animal-based products, or products tested on animals.

There are two kinds of vegans, raw vegans and regular vegans. Raw vegans do not cook their food. There are foods that most consumers do not realize actually contain animal products. For example, some apple juice brands clarify their juice by using fish bladder membranes. Most white sugar is refined using bone char, and most marshmallows contain gelatin, which is a protein collagen-based food. 

Vegans do not use animal products or products tested on animals. Makeup brands like Benefit, Clinique, and Makeup Forever all test on animals. Leather bags, boots, and coats are off limits. Often, the only time vegans use or purchase animal product items are if the products are second-hand.   

Vegetarians choose simply to not eat meat. There are three main types of vegetarians: Lacto-vegetarians exclude meat, fish, poultry and eggs from their diet; however, they d consume dairy products.  Some lacto-vegetarians choose to exclude cheese from their diet because many cheeses contain rennet, which is usually derived from a calf’s fourth stomach.  Ovo-vegetarians do not consume meat, fish, poultry, or dairy products, but they do eat eggs. Lacto-ovo-vegetarians eat eggs and dairy products while excluding the previously mentioned animal proteins.  Simply put, the foods in the title include the options open to certain vegetarians. 

Diets that exclude meat, but are not vegetarian or vegan are Pescatarians exclude all meats except for fish, and pollotarians exclude all meat except for poultry. Finally, there are fruitarians, who exclude all vegetables and meats. Some fruitarians live off of fruits, seeds, nuts, grains, and berries, however more extreme fruitarians only consume fruit.